Video By Green Building Consultants


Monday, 1 October 2007

LEED 102 The Rating System

Thursday, December 6, 2007

The LEED Rating System: An Introduction
LEED® certification is based on a point system.The amount of points achieved will determine which level of LEED® certification the project is awarded. There are 69 possible points and four certification levels.
  • Basic LEED® Certification requires 26 to 32 points;
  • LEED® Certified Silver Level requires 33 to 38 points;
  • LEED® Certified Gold Level requires 39 to 51 points; and
  • LEED® Certified Platinum Level requires 52 to 69 points.

USGBC organizes the available points for LEED® certification into six broad categories. Below is a list of the categories and examples of required and possible points for each of the categories.
USGBC also provides an optional sixth category for innovation and design process.

  • Using a LEED® Accredited Professional (LAP) (1 point).
  • Sustainable Sites (14 possible points total):
  • Erosion and Sedimentation Control (required point);
    Site Selection (1 point);
  • Urban Redevelopment (1 point); etc.
    Water Efficiency (5 possible points total):
  • Water Efficient Landscaping, Reduce by 50% (1 point);
  • Innovative Wastewater Technologies (1 point);
  • Water Use Reduction, 20% Reduction (1 point); etc.
  • Energy and Atmosphere (17 possible points total):
  • Fundamental Building Systems Commissioning (required point);
  • Minimum Energy Performance (required point);
  • CFC Reduction in HVAC&R Equipment (required point); Renewable Energy, 20% (1 point); etc.
  • Materials and Resources (13 possible points total):
  • Storage and Collection of Recyclables (required point);
  • Building Reuse, Maintain 75% of Existing Shell (1 point);
  • Construction Waste Management, Divert 50% (1 point); etc.
  • Indoor Environmental Quality (15 possible points total):
  • Minimum IAQ Performance (required point);
  • Environmental Tobacco Smoke (ETS) Control (required point);
  • Ventilation Effectiveness (1 point);
  • Low–Emitting Materials, Adhesives & Sealants (1 point); etc.
  • Innovation and Design Process (5 possible points total):
  • Innovations in Design, Provide Specifics (1 to 4 points)

More Details

  • New ConstructionLEED for New Construction and Major Renovations is designed to guide and distinguish high-performance commercial and institutional projects.
  • Existing BuildingsLEED for Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance provides a benchmark for building owners and operators to measure operations, improvements and maintenance.
  • Commercial InteriorsLEED for Commercial Interiors is a benchmark for the tenant improvement market that gives the power to make sustainable choices to tenants and designers.
  • Core & ShellLEED for Core & Shell aids designers, builders, developers and new building owners in implementing sustainable design for new core and shell construction.\
  • SchoolsLEED for Schools recognizes the unique nature of the design and construction of K-12 schools and addresses the specific needs of school spaces.
  • RetailLEED for Retail recognizes the unique nature of retail design and construction projects and addresses the specific needs of retail spaces.
  • HealthcareLEED for Healthcare promotes sustainable planning, design and construction for high-performance healthcare facilities.
  • HomesLEED for Homes promotes the design and construction of high-performance green homes.
  • Neighborhood DevelopmentLEED for Neighborhood Development integrates the principles of smart growth, urbanism and green building into the first national standard for neighborhood design.
  • LEED Rating System DraftsReview and comment on proposed final drafts of new and updated LEED Rating Systems.

Source From the LEED Site at USGBC

No comments: